Henchmen and Treasure XP

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
drkrash
Joined: 2016-04-15 15:54
Henchmen and Treasure XP

I'm not exactly sure how this is supposed to work in the rules.

PCs get XP for treasure and Henchmen get 1/2 XP.  Simple enough.

We have had occasions where some henchmen stay in one place, while others travel with the PCs.  Sometimes those trips are specifically to go to larger markets to sell expensive loot, and thus earn treasure XP.  In that case, I have given XP to the PCs and 1/2 XP for the Henchmen who joined them.  The ones that didn't go don't get any.

Now the adventuring company is reaching appropriately large old-school party sizes: 6 PCs and 7 Henchmen, with probably a couple more to be hired soon.  The PCs are now reaching the point where they want to go adventuring with some of the Henchmen, and send the other Henchmen off on journeys on the highways to do busy work - like going to larger markets to sell the party's loot for them.

Using the rule I've been using, the Henchmen should get all the XP for loot sold! Obviously, this isn't going to work.

How was this intended to work in the rules? Any suggestions about how I should handle this? TIA.

GMJoe
Joined: 2013-01-04 12:56

You don't get experience points for loot sold, you get experience points for loot brought back to civilisation. For example, if you drag an ancient gold idol back to the podunk hamlet you operate out of and then put it in a box in the attic without selling it, you get expeirence for having brought it home.

The only exception to the above is magic items. Magic items do only grant experience at the time of sale, and then only if you haven't used them for anything before selling them.

The above information is from page 113 of ACKS.

drkrash
Joined: 2016-04-15 15:54

You don't get experience points for loot sold, you get experience points for loot brought back to civilisation. For example, if you drag an ancient gold idol back to the podunk hamlet you operate out of and then put it in a box in the attic without selling it, you get expeirence for having brought it home.

The only exception to the above is magic items. Magic items do only grant experience at the time of sale, and then only if you haven't used them for anything before selling them.

The above information is from page 133 of ACKS.


-GMJoe

Fair enough.  I wasn't aware that the rule was as formalized as this, but there it is.  (It's 113, BTW.)  OK.  I'm going to continue doing it the way I've been doing it because it definitely keeps my players hungrier to have to unload gems and artifacts to get their XP, but this also means there is no rules precedent for my situation, which means I'm going to have to answer this one myself, I guess.