Question about Mystic Aura

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Saturno
Joined: 2018-07-29 15:08
Question about Mystic Aura

Hello everyone! I have a question regarding this proficiency: 

Mystic Aura: The character has learned to project his magical
powers in a way that causes awe in those that share the character’s
presence. He gains a +2 bonus to reaction rolls to impress and
intimidate people he encounters. If this bonus results in a total of
12 or more, the subjects act as if charmed while in his presence.

 So if my target's reaction roll does not result in the charmed status when can I try to use Mystic Aura with the same target again? 

Jard
Patreon SupporterDomains At War ContributorSinister Stone of Sakkara ContributorLairs And Encounters ContributorBarbarian Conquerors of Kanahu ContributorACKS Heroic Fantasy Handbook Contributor
Joined: 2012-07-11 23:23

the rules to this are not hard and fast. some house rules and axioms articles have proposed a series of reaction rolls at different phases of an interaction, but the general guideline is that the judge can call for a new reaction roll either when the nature of the interaction has sufficiently changed, typically when a major request has been made.  One important note: they're only charmed for as long as you're in the room with them, so be careful about openly swindling people and then leaving ;-)

Saturno
Joined: 2018-07-29 15:08
Thank you for your answer! I have another question about a situation involving one of my players who happen to have Mystic Aura, maybe you could help me with this as well! Last session ended with the PC (a mage 2) noticing a wealthy residence while the other characters paraded through town with the spoils of the small dungeon they sacked. He told me that next session he would like to visit the wealthy owners of said mansion and I'm sure he intends to swindle them with his Mystic Aura and grab some money (my characters want money to start a mercenary company). Now, I actually like where this is going, but if the character succeeds in cashing some gold pieces out of the rich folk, would that gold be converted to XP? He is in a town, and I imagine that if he robbed an NPC the treasure, even if insignificant, would count as XP, right? Or I am wrong?
Saturno
Joined: 2018-07-29 15:08
Thank you for your answer! I have another question about a situation involving one of my players who happen to have Mystic Aura, maybe you could help me with this as well! Last session ended with the PC (a mage 2) noticing a wealthy residence while the other characters paraded through town with the spoils of the small dungeon they sacked. He told me that next session he would like to visit the wealthy owners of said mansion and I'm sure he intends to swindle them with his Mystic Aura and grab some money (my characters want money to start a mercenary company). Now, I actually like where this is going, but if the character succeeds in cashing some gold pieces out of the rich folk, would that gold be converted to XP? He is in a town, and I imagine that if he robbed an NPC the treasure, even if insignificant, would count as XP, right? Or I am wrong?
Jard
Patreon SupporterDomains At War ContributorSinister Stone of Sakkara ContributorLairs And Encounters ContributorBarbarian Conquerors of Kanahu ContributorACKS Heroic Fantasy Handbook Contributor
Joined: 2012-07-11 23:23

Thank you for your answer! I have another question about a situation involving one of my players who happen to have Mystic Aura, maybe you could help me with this as well! Last session ended with the PC (a mage 2) noticing a wealthy residence while the other characters paraded through town with the spoils of the small dungeon they sacked. He told me that next session he would like to visit the wealthy owners of said mansion and I'm sure he intends to swindle them with his Mystic Aura and grab some money (my characters want money to start a mercenary company). Now, I actually like where this is going, but if the character succeeds in cashing some gold pieces out of the rich folk, would that gold be converted to XP? He is in a town, and I imagine that if he robbed an NPC the treasure, even if insignificant, would count as XP, right? Or I am wrong?

-Saturno

So, RAW in order to get XP it has to be wealth you've recovered from a dungeon, most other sources of XP from earning gold are subject to the campaign XP thresholds.  That said, you might be able to use the rules for a burglarly hijink and shuffle it around a bit to come up with a fair XP number.

Aryxymaraki
Aryxymaraki's picture
Patreon SupporterDomains At War BackerSinister Stone of Sakkara BackerLairs And Encounters BackerBarbarian Conquerors of Kanahu ContributorACKS Heroic Fantasy Handbook Contributor
Joined: 2014-01-04 02:20

So, RAW in order to get XP it has to be wealth you've recovered from a dungeon, most other sources of XP from earning gold are subject to the campaign XP thresholds.  That said, you might be able to use the rules for a burglarly hijink and shuffle it around a bit to come up with a fair XP number.


-Jard

Encounters with monsters who carry treasure in the wilderness or wilderness lairs count too :p  (As well as loot from mass combat and so on.)  I would say that RAW the gold needs to come from combat or a similarly dangerous situation.

That said, I agree with your general point, depending on the situation; robbing someone who can't fight back would be a campaign activity and the GP threshold would be in play.  If the rich NPC is high level or has high-level guards, and is likely to come try to take it back by force (remember that they are no longer charmed once you leave their presence!), I would consider it similarly dangerous to combat and just award the XP.